Cibulkova & Hampton Tough It Out

Watch Stanford & Baku this week on WTA Live powered by TennisTV! Cibulkova was the first of the two to win, letting 5-2 leads go in both sets but eventually finishing off a very aggressive Stefanie Voegele in straight sets, 75 76(5). Voegele hit 10 aces in the match. “I expected a really tough match, because she’s playing really well right now,” Cibulkova said. “I played her a long time ago. I remember she plays close to the lines. I knew it would be a tough match. “It could have been an easier match for me though – I was 5-2 up first set and 5-2 up second set – but in the end I always made it, and even though it could have been easier, I’m still happy with the win.” Is a tough match like that a good or a bad thing going into the rest of the tournament? “It was a good test,” Cibulkova said. “It was a really high quality match, and I had to play some good tennis to get through. I’m really happy to be in the quarters and hopefully I’ll continue to play well tomorrow.” Hampton followed Cibulkova into the final eight with a 64 67(5) 63 win over former college tennis star Nicole Gibbs . Gibbs, a wildcard into the draw, looked like she was creeping back into the third set, catching up from 0-4 to 3-4; but Hampton won two quick games to end the two-hour, 12-minute duel. “I wasn’t expecting to be at the top of my game – it was my first match since Wimbledon and it’s a tough transition to come back and get into playing mode again,” Hampton said. “But I didn’t get down on myself.
Read more at http://www.wtatennis.com/news/article/3328107

Leave a Reply

