Suárez Steps Up, Sharapova Wins

Click here to watch video highlights and more from Madrid, all week! The 66-minute first set between Stosur and Suárez Navarro had all kinds of swings – Suárez Navarro originally led 3-0 before Stosur won four straight games, and eventually the two moved through to a tie-break. Stosur had set point at 7-6 but Suárez Navarro saved it and closed the breaker out, 9-7. They stayed even through 2-all in the second set but Suárez Navarro broke away from there, reeling off four games in a row to close it out, 76(7) 62, and score the seventh Top 10 win of her career. “The draw wasn’t very good to me, and I knew the match was going to be difficult, so I was prepared with my tactics today,” Suárez Navarro said. “Sam is a difficult player and the first set was really difficult. But I was very focused and played a really good match. I’m happy to make the next round.” Suárez Navarro only had one day off between playing the final of Oeiras on Saturday and her first match here. “It was difficult to recover from that loss in Oeiras, and we only had a small window to prepare for today’s match, but I was really focused. Once I got here to Madrid, I didn’t think of what happened in Oeiras for a single moment. I just wanted to play the best I could here today. “We only have one tournament here in Spain so for us it’s a really important week.” Speaking of playing at home, Suárez Navarro just recently broke into the Top 20 for the first time, a culmination of years of expectations after the Spaniard reached the quarterfinals of two of her first four Grand Slams, the 2008 French Open and 2009 Australian Open . Her thoughts on the pressure? “I had a great surprise at Roland Garros and from then on everyone was expecting that was going to happen all the time,” Suárez Navarro said.
Original Website http://www.wtatennis.com/news/article/3169503

Leave a Reply

