Semifinal Line-Up Set In Marrakech

Watch live action from Marrakech all week on WTA Live powered by TennisTV! Mandy Minella was the first player to make the semifinals, beating Sílvia Soler-Espinosa in the only quarterfinal on Court 2, 63 36 63, rallying from a break down in the third set to finish it off. “It was a big fight, mentally – we’ve played each other like five times already,” Minella commented. “I played some very good tennis in the first set, then a little crush down in the second, but then I tidied it up in the third. In the end it was just a mental battle, and I’m happy that I won the match finally. “I feel tired now, but I’ll get some rest and treatment and I’ll be ready to go again tomorrow!” Meanwhile on Centre Court, Lourdes Domínguez Lino was grinding past Kiki Bertens , winning three games in a row from 3-all in the third set to outdo the No.5 seed and defending champion, 64 46 63. “She’s playing well and she won here last year, and it was a really tough match, so I’m happy that I won,” Domínguez Lino said. “I just tried to play my game. I know she probably doesn’t like my game too much – and it worked. Making the semifinals here is great for me and we’ll see what happens.” Domínguez Lino beat Minella in their only previous meeting , at Bogotá two years ago. And that has a lot of relevance, as that tournament has similar conditions – slow red clay combined with altitude. Next up on Centre, Chanelle Scheepers put together the most dominant victory of the day, her solid ground game just too consistent for big-hitting No.7 seed Kristina Mladenovic . She won, 61 62. “I think I played a solid match – I did exactly what I’ve been doing all week,” Scheepers said.
See the entire article here http://www.wtatennis.com/news/article/3158793

Leave a Reply

